Post Christmas Detox: Day 1

 

I tried to be really sensible over the Christmas period with regards to food and drink and actually I didn’t go wild. I did however let my boundaries slip a little and I think when that happens it can be really difficult to reset. I’ve had a couple of failed attempts to get back on the clean eating wagon, the first was made prematurely on News Year Day and, predictably, was destined to fail due to the fact that we still had leftover “Christmas food” in the house. The second was made when I went back to work and that fared better than my first attempt but has been thwarted slightly by a meal out (plum pie, ice cream and prosecco) and the naff weather making me feel like the only thing worth doing upon arriving home is drink hot chocolate (maple syrup).

I have ientified my main problem as being that I didn’t define what I meant by “getting back on the wagon”, I didn’t set myself any realistic, achievable or measurabe targets. For example, if I’d said “for January I’m going to cut out alcohol or reduce the amount of gluten I eat” I think I might have been helping myself to make choices that would have allowed me to stick to my goals better whilst still being realistic. Instead, in my head I’d decided I just needed to have an overhaul and eat “clean” and only “clean”. Not very realistic or measurable.

So here it is, for the rest of January I would like to set myself the following targets:

  1. Cut out all alcohol
  2. Reuce the amount of sugar I eat to two portions of non-refined sugars a week
  3. Increase my vegetable intake
  4. Get back to exercising 5 times a week for 30 minutes
  5. Try to be in bed by 10.30pm every week night

 

Like I say, I didn’t go wild at Christmas, I made all our deserts using non-refined sugars and we just didn’t buy chocolates, mince pies or cakes. I drank a little more than I woud have liked but it was mostly red wine and prosecco which are lower sugar drinks. I think the issue was probably not the quality of the food we ate, but more the quantity. Where as usually a desert would be a weekly or even sometimes monthly treat, we were eating raw vegan cheesecake and sticky date toffee pudding most nights which still left me feeling like I’d over indulged (albeit on densely nutritious foods). I don’t dare weigh myself but I feel like I might have put a little bit of weight on and so I’d just like to take control sooner rather than later, if to achieve nothing else than putting my mind at rest.

 

Here’s how day 1 of the post Christmas detox went.

Breakfast…

Porridge made with oats, chia seeds, oatmilk, frozen raspberries and blueberries and cinnamon, topped with pistatio nuts

A glass of coconut water and a mug of hot water with apple cyder vinegar

IMG_0546

Lunch…

Couscous with roasted vegetables and a “detox” smoothie containing kale, parsley, beetroot, apple, lemon and ginger.

Mug of peppermint tea

IMG_0547

 

Snack…

2 brown rice crackers with marmite

 

Dinner…

Home made gluten free beef and mushroom pie with sweet potato mash, peas and sweetcorn

IMG_0548

Leave a Reply

