New boots and crumble

I love Autumn, I think it’s my favorite season, when it’s not quite cold but there’s a slight chill in the air and the leaves are starting to turn red. My thoughts always turn towards all the fun things that come with this time of year; Halloween, Bonfire night and of course, Christmas! I love Christmas. I’m a self-titled Christmasist. I also like the dark evenings and being cuddled up in woolly jumpers, drinking mugs of hot chocolate just enjoying being a home. I’m a bit of a home bird.

Molly is 2 this Autumn and it’s a lovely age for Autumn I think! We’re really looking forward to jumping in muddy puddles, gathering blackberries and trick-or-treating dressed, most likely, as a dinosaur I’d imagine.

Today I have been feeling particularly Autumnal. We received an exciting parcel in the post which turned out to be Molly’s new boots and she spent the afternoon stomping around in them and showing them to anyone who’d look. Those of you who have read my blog post “Shoes for Molly” will know that we often struggle to find shoes as she has a particular high instep. We actually found these boots in Next they are half a size bigger than she would normally wear (She measured 4.5 in Clarks and these are a size 5) but they fit beautifully and are good quality and sturdy – perfect for stomping through Autumn leaves!

IMG_20150909_151903~2

We’re lucky enough to have access to a mass of blackberry bushes and were also recently given a bag full of home-grown cooking apples by my parents so I decided that it would be almost rude not to make an apple and blackberry crumble. Of course I wasn’t allowed to touch it due to my badly timed giving up of sugar pursuits, but I’m confident it will get eaten by other hungry mouths – strangely my parents dropped by just as it was going in the oven, how coincidental!

IMG_20150906_185211~2

IMG_20150905_160803~2

The recipe for the crumble came from Ella Woodward’s book “Deliciously Ella” and was ridiculously simple to make and wonderfully “clean”. Here’s how to make it…

What you need….

1 Mug of Almonds (200g)

1 1/2 Mugs oats (180g)

3 heaped tablespoons coconut oil

1/3 mugs maple syrup (I used Date Syrup) (100ml)

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

6 red apples (I used cooking apples as that’s what I had)

2 mugs of blackberries (400g)

1 tablespoon maple syrup to put in with the fruit (again, I used date syrup)

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon to put in with the fruit

IMG_20150905_144840~2

What to do…

Place the Almonds in a food processor and blend for a few minutes until a flour forms, then add this flour to a mixing bowl with the oats  (you can get ground almonds if you’d rather avoid the faff of doing this)

Place the coconut oil, maple syrup and cinnamon into a saucepan and gently heat until the coconut has melted and everything has mixed nicely,

Pour this over the oat and almond mixture and stir well until all the dry ingredients are coated with the wet ingredients.

Then peel the apples and remove the cores, cutting the remaining apple into small piece. Place these in a saucepan with the blackberries, maple syrup and cinnamon and just enough water to cover the bottom of the  pan.

Place the lid on the pan and allow to simmer for about 10 minutes, until the fruit is nice and soft. While this cooks, pre-heat the oven to 200 degrees (fan 180)

Once the fruit is soft, transfer it to a baking dish and layer the topping above it. Bake for 25-30  minutes, until the top is nicely browned.

Serve with creme fraiche, natural yogurt or whipped coconut cream and enjoy!

IMG_20150906_185153~2

I has a little time left over whilst Molly was still napping so I tried my hand at making some Finnish Scones from Sarah Wilson’s book “I quit Sugar”, to go with our red pepper soup for tomorrow’s lunch. I wasn’t convinced that they would come out well but I’m actually really pleased with them and again they were super easy to make.

IMG_20150909_143441~2

So, come on Autumn…we’ve got our crumble and our boots and we’re ready for conkers and leaf piles, fireworks and twinkly lights, cosy pj’s and hot chocolate!

Leave a Reply

