The IQS Challenge

IMG_20150903_075220~2

So I have really enjoyed the “clean” food that I’ve been eating recently and I’m feeling much healthier for it as well, but I’ve been doing a lot of reading on the topic and I still have some concerns about the way I’m eating. I still feel that I’m consuming too much sugar and although I have taken steps to remove the processed and refined sugars from my diet, at the end of the day sugar is still sugar no matter what source it comes from. I don’t want to bore you and Sarah Wilson explains it all so much better than me anyway so please feel free to follow the link if you want to know more about “The Science” behind it all.

Reading Sarah Wilson’s book “I quite Sugar” made me realise that I’m eating more sugar than my body is designed to cope with, and no, it’s not okay to eat loads of sugary fruit because its healthy, it’s STILL too much sugar.

I decided that it’s time to take clean eating to the next level and take Sarah Wilson’s 8 week program challenge to eliminate sugar entirely from my system, re-calibrate my body and then start to figure out how much sugar I actually need without the pesky cravings telling me that I need more than I really do.

As a fully blown sugar addict I recognise that this is not going to be easy but I’m excited to see whether I can rid myself of my addiction and intrigued to see whether my taste buds will change to start allowing me to enjoy other, non-sweet foods more.

Of course I will be blogging about my experiences along the way so if anyone else is up for the challenge then stay tuned to see how I get on and please go easy on me if I slip up, apparently sugar is 8 times more addictive than cocaine and I’m going cold turkey.

4 thoughts on “The IQS Challenge

  1. Yes, there is indeed sugar in fruit. But fruit also comes with many other healthful nutrients (unlike chocolate bars) that your body needs. And have you checked out glycemic load?Good for you for eliminatng processed foods and refined sugars. That’s a biggy. I try not to get too obsessed with a particular idea, though, and instead take a balanced approach, e.g.
    https://cookupastory.wordpress.com/2013/09/17/wheat-and-the-glycemic-index-loaded-question/

    Like

    • Thank you Vinny Grette, I think you’re right, it is easy to get obsessed about eating a certain way so it’s important to try and be sensible about things and ensure that you’re eating healthily. The 8 week IQS program suggests cutting out all sugar including fruit for a couple of weeks to recalibrate your body and then start to re-introduce fruit and other sugar alternatives once the cravings have gone. In the meantime we can get all the nutrients we need from veggies, protein and good fats. Thanks for the suggestion, will check out glycemic load x

      Like

  2. Good luck, I think it is really sensible and having broken my habit of 1Lof Pepsi a day down to just 300ml Which wasn’t easy. I’m sure it will be worth it and hopefully I will pluck up the nerve soon and start to cut out that last bit of Pepsi before I start on the other sugars! Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

