Clean Eating: Day One

As I embark on my clean eating journey, I thought I would share with you the sorts of things that I’m eating. I have no idea if what I’m doing is even remotely right so if any expert clean eaters are reading my blog and would like to offer any worldly words of advice then they’d be gratefully received! I’m still a little nervous about weight gain but I decided I had to start somewhere so I’m throwing myself into it and we’ll see what happens. I’m taking something that I read on another clean eating blog as inspiration for this challenge and that is that you shouldn’t go off what the scales say but rather what your clothes tell you so I’ll be keeping a firm eye on those size 10’s!

Amelia Freer talks in her book “Eat. Nourish. Glow” about giving up your old eating habits one by one and as I’ve already identified that I have a sugar addiction, it seemed logical that my first “one thing” should be sugar. We started by detoxing the house and clearing out anything that had refined sugar or artificial sugar in it, I’m not even kidding when I tell you that there were two bin bags full of stuff and afterwards the fridge looked like this…

IMG_20150815_222634~2

Not deterred (well okay, slightly terrified) I started to plan some meals and looked into healthy snacks and treats that we could all have instead.

Day one looked a little like this:

Breakfast

1 poached egg on a bed of watercress with a handful of blueberries

IMG_20150812_081844~2

Lunch

Baked potato with low-fat cottage cheese and salad followed by mixed berry fruit salad (i.e. strawberries, blueberries, raspberries & cherries) I realised that the baked potato, being a carbohydrate would turn into sugar in my body so slipped up a little there but won’t be making that mistake again!

Dinner

Mexican mince in lettuce wraps with fresh salsa (taken from Madeleine Shaw’s book “Get the Glow” see my blog for the recipe and a review)

1 piece of Ella Woodward’s raw vegan brownie (see my blog for recipe and review) again I realise that this does have natural sugars in as I used maple syrup but at the moment I’m trying to focus on eliminating refined sugars from my diet)

IMG_20150812_173905~2

Evening

1 cup of chamomile and lavender tea (this is when I would normally feel the need for some sugar but I absolutely didn’t feel like I was craving it at all!)

Exercise

30 minutes of yoga

Leave a Reply

