Home-made honey and pecan ice cream

Summer is here (or so I’m told) and who doesn’t love ice cream on a hot summer day, or a cold day or a cloudy day or a rainy day…I could go on. But I won’t.

I don’t need to explain to you the problems with eating ice cream if you are, like me, trying to watch your figure. so when Slimming World recommended I read a post about making your own low fat ice cream, I thought it would be worth checking out. The recipes suggested that I used different flavoured Muller Light yoghurt and various toppings such as Malteasers and Crunchie bars to create a variety of delicious sounding flavours but as I’ve mentioned before I have long been looking for a way out of relying on sweeteners and refined sugar and these would be full of both.

I decided to see what would happen if I substituted the Muller yogurts with fat free Greek yogurt, I figured the consistency was about the same and if anything it would work better because Greek yoghurt is a bit thicker and creamier.

My favourite ice cream is Haagen Daz Pralines and Cream so I wondered if this could be replicated to an extent by swirling honey into the yoghurt and adding pecan nuts which I always think taste sweeter than other nuts.

Here’s what you need…

1 tub of fat free Greek yoghurt

2-3 tablespoons of the best quality honey you can afford

2-3 tea spoons of the best quality vanilla extract you can afford

a handful of pecan nuts (or any other nuts that you want to use)

Here’s what to do…

Decant the yoghurt into a freezer safe bowl with a lid.

Swirl in the honey using a spoon

Mix in the pecan nuts

Put on the lid and place the bowl in the freezer for 30 minutes.

Stir to remove crystals and return to the freezer.

Repeat the above every 30 minutes until the mixture reaches an ice cream like consistency.

Here’s what it looked like…

IMG_20150801_184637~2

pictured here with raw vegan brownie

This recipe actually worked really well, which surprised me as I’d sort of made it up. I tried some the next day and it was actually even better as had frozen more solidly and melted in a similar way to how ice cream would. I think I got a bit excited on the day of making and tried it before it was really ready, although I do like my ice cream quite soft and “melty”

It obviously didn’t taste as rich and creamy as ice cream but in fairness that might have something to do with it not actually being made with cream! As a low fat compromise, this worked really well. And the best thing about it is, it’s completely free from artificial sweetener!

To make this recipe vegan you could substitute the honey with maple syrup and to make it dairy free you could use Alpro Soya yoghurt instead of regular Greek yoghurt. This would probably make it more compliant with clean eating as well.

As I think I’ve mentioned before, Molly considers herself to be quite the ice cream connoisseur but I am pleased to report that she happily accepted this recipe as “ice cream” and polished off the lot! I try not think of it as “tricking her” as such….but anyway, she’ll thank me when she’s older!

Leave a Reply

