Pots au chocolat

Anyone who knows me, knows very well that I have a bit of a sweet tooth and an absolute weakness for chocolate. So when I stumbled across this Slimming World recipe for pots au chocolat www.slimmingworld.com I thought it would be well worth a go. A quick check of the ingredients list told me that the only thing not compliant with clean living was sweetener so I decided to use the healthiest sweetener I could find which seemed to be plant extract Stevia. Honey or Maple syrup I thought would probably alter the consistency but I do plan to experiment with these.

So here’s what it looked like…

IMG_20150719_180736~2

Here’s what you need to make it…

Ingredients:

60g Darkest possible chocolate (I found one in Tesco’s sweetened with Stevia)

3 eggs, seperated

1 tbsp sweetener (I used Stevia)

Finely grated zest of 1/2 orange

1 tsp vanilla extract

4 tsps fat-free natural fromage frais (I used fat free for the adults and full fat for Molly’s)

4 fresh raspberries

1 level tsp cocoa powder (optional)

And here’s how to make it…

1. Melt the chocolate in a large, heatproof bowl over a pan of gently simmering water, ensuring the bowl doesn’t touch the water (or melt in the microwave on a low heat for 30 seconds) leave to cool a little.

2. Whisk together the egg yolks, sweetener, orange zest and vanilla in a large bowl until smooth. Pour in the melted chocolate, whisking well.

3. In a clean, glass bowl, beat the egg whites until they stand up in stiff peaks. Gently fold in the chocolate mixture using a metal spoon.

4. Divide between 4 bowls or small glasses and chill for 3-4 hours or until set. Add a dollop of fat free natural fromage frais and a raspberry to each bowl and dust with the cocoa powder to serve.

IMG_20150719_134654~2

I was pleasantly surprised that the texture was actually a perfect light mousse, I wasn’t sure that the fromage frais added much so I might leave it off next time but the freshness of the raspberry complimented the slightly bitter taste of the chocolate really well. And I’m pleased to report that there were 5 empty bowls at the end of the meal (I made this for my Mum and Dad who are both diabetic, as well as for the hubby and Molly) one of the aforementioned even licked the bowl out afterwards but I won’t disclose who….

IMG_20150719_180802~2

Will definitely be trying this one again but I think I’ll experiment with different types of natural sweeteners and leave off the fromage frais. Happy Days x

p.s. These pots au chocolat work out at 4.5 syns per pot. Please note that this recipe is not suitable for babies under 1 or pregnant women as it uses raw eggs.

Leave a Reply

